Max Planck Gesellschaft

Research group: Model-Data Integration

Mission | Team | Projects | Publications

Mission

The Model-Data Integration group explores strategies and develops methods to extract and transfer information from data to models, towards improving our understanding of ecosystem functioning and its representation in modeling structures. We aim at approaches which are robust enough to deal with inevitable deficiencies of data and models to represent complex systems. Within this context we test hypotheses about the dynamics of biogeochemical cycles in terrestrial ecosystems and their responses to environmental conditions. The two major challenges generally posed are the identification of plausible model structures, and the transformation of data properties ("patterns") into model properties ("parameters"). Considering "multiple-constraints" approaches and combining classical inverse parameter estimation techniques with machine learning approaches and modern time-series analysis has already proven a valuable approach for improving models.


Team

Phone: +49.3641.57 - extension | E-mail: e-mail - at - bgc-jena.mpg.de

Name Position E-mail Phone Room
Nuno Carvalhais Group leader ncarval 6225 C3.009a
Shanning Bao Visiting PhD student sbao 6215 C3.007
Simon Besnard PhD Student (@WUR) sbesnard ... ...
Naixin Fan PhD Student nfan 6278 C2.008a
Jonas Guetter Master Student jguetter ... ...
Sujan Koirala PostDoc (with GDM) skoirala 6214 C2.004
Caglar Kucuk PhD Student (with GDM) ckucuk 6214 C2.004
Nora Linscheid PhD Student (with EIES) nlinsch 6288 C3.013
Catarina Moura PostDoc (@FCT-UNL) cmoura 6215 C1.014
Jacob Nelson PhD Student (with GDM) jnelson 6207 C2.004
Steffen Richter Scientific Programmer (with TBM) srichter 6268 C3.017


!!!! Other department members actively involved in MDI activities

Bernhard Ahrens, Thomas Wutzler

Former team members, collaborators and guests

Sven Boese PhD Student (now @ EIES)
Maarten Braakhekke PhD student, Postdoc (moved to Universiteit Utrecht)
Thomas Brockmann Master Student from Jena University
João Carreira Visiting PhD student (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal)
Adam Erickson PostDoc
Matthias Forkel PhD student, Postdoc (moved to Remote Sensing research group at TU Wien)
Manos Kalomenopoulos PhD Student (@Wageningen University)
Jean-Philippe Jenny PostDoc, (moved to CARRTEL, INRA)
Marleen Pallandt PhD Student, now with TBM
Ying Sun Visiting PhD student (University of Texas, Austin, US)
Xiaolu Tang PostDoc
Martin Thurner PhD student (@Stockholm University)
Enrico Tomelleri PostDoc

Current projects

Completed projects


Key papers

Forkel, M., Carvalhais, N., Rödenbeck, C., Keeling, R., Heimann, M., Thonicke, K., Zaehle, S., Reichstein, M. (2016). Enhanced seasonal CO2 exchange caused by amplified plant productivity in northern ecosystems. Science. doi:10.1126/science.aac4971 [abstract, reprint, full text]
Forkel, M., Migliavacca, M., Thonicke, K., Reichstein, M., Schaphoff, S., Weber, U., Carvalhais, N. (2015). Co-dominant water control on global inter-annual variability and trends in land surface phenology and greenness. Global Change Biology. doi:10.1111/gcb.12950
Carvalhais, N., Forkel, M., Khomik, M., et al. (2014) Global covariation of carbon turnover times with climate in terrestrial ecosystems. Nature, 514, 213-217 doi:10.1038/nature13731
Beer, C., Reichstein, M. , Tomelleri, E., Ciais, P., Jung, M., Carvalhais, N., Rödenbeck, C., Arain, M.A., Baldocchi, D., Bonan, G.B., Bondeau, A., Cescatti, A., Lasslop, G., Lindroth, A., Lomas, M., Luyssaert, S., Margolis, H., Oleson, K.W., Roupsard, O., Veenendaal, E., Viovy, N., Williams, C., Woodward, F.I. and Papale, D. (2010) Terrestrial Gross Carbon Dioxide Uptake: Global Distribution and Covariation with Climate. Science, 329, 834-838.
Carvalhais, N., Reichstein, M., Ciais, P., Collatz, G.J., Mahecha, M.D., Montagnani, L., Papale, D., Rambal, S. and Seixas, J. (2010) Identification of vegetation and soil carbon pools out of equilibrium in a process model via eddy covariance and biometric constraints. Global Change Biology, 16, 2813-2829.
Carvalhais, N., Reichstein, M., Collatz, G.J., Mahecha, M.D., Migliavacca, M., Neigh, C.S.R., Tomelleri, E., Benali, A.A., Papale, D. and Seixas, J. (2010) Deciphering the components of regional net ecosystem fluxes following a bottom-up approach for the Iberian Peninsula. Biogeosciences, 7, 3707-3729.
Mahecha, M.D., Reichstein, M., Carvalhais, N., Lasslop, G., Lange, H., Seneviratne, S.I., Vargas, R., Ammann, C., Arain, M.A., Cescatti, A., Janssens, I.A., Migliavacca, M., Montagnani, L. and Richardson, A.D. (2010) Global Convergence in the Temperature Sensitivity of Respiration at Ecosystem Level. Science, 329, 838-840.

Follow link for a complete list of publications by the research group.

Directions | Disclaimer | Data Protection | Contact | Internal | Webmail | Local weather | PRINT | © 2011-2019 Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry