Max Planck Society
Max Planck Institut for Biogeochemistry



Prof. Dr. Markus Reichstein (Managing Director since September 1st, 2018)
Prof. Susan E. Trumbore, Ph.D.

Former Directors

Prof. Dr. Martin Heimann (Emeritus Scientific Member of the Max Planck Society)
Prof. Dr. Ernst-Detlef Schulze (Emeritus Scientific Member of the Max Planck Society)

Independent Research Group Leaders

Dr. Christian Hallmann (Max Planck Research Group)
Dr. Axel Kleidon
Dr. René Orth (Emmy-Noether-Group)
Dr. Carlos Sierra (Emmy-Noether-Group)
Prof. Dr. Christian Wirth (Max-Planck Fellow)
Dr. Sönke Zaehle (ERC Group)

Research Coordinator

Dr. Eberhard Fritz

Head of Administration

Petra Bauer (until 01/2020)

The facade of the MPI for Biogeochemistry The entrance hall area of the institute. (Photo: Steffen Beer) The foyer area of the lecture hall is showcasing natural stones of the Thuringian region flanked by a selection of local woods. (Photo: Susanne Hermsmeier)

Scientific Advisory Board (2018)

Prof. Dr. Gordon Bonan

Professor of Terrestrial Sciences
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, CO, USA

Prof. Dr. Timothy Ian Eglinton

ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Geological Institute

Dr. Jennifer Harden

U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park, CA, USA

Prof. Dr. Yiqi Luo

Northern Arizona University, USA
Department of Biological Sciences

Prof. Dr. Christiane Werner

Albert Ludwigs University Freiburg, Germany

Prof. Dr. Mathew Williams

University of Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Global Change Research Institute, School of GeoSciences

Prof. Dr. Steven C. Wofsy

Abbott Lawrence Rotch Professor
of Atmospheric and Environmental Science
Harvard University, Cambridge, USA

Organisational Structure

Directions | Disclaimer | Data Protection | Contact | Internal | Webmail | Local weather | PRINT | © 2011-2020 Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry