© J. Helm/BGC

Department Biogeochemicical Processes

Prof. Trumbore

The Biogeochemical Processes Division studies key processes and organisms that regulate the exchange of energy, water, and chemical compounds between ecosystems and their environments, and how these processes are affected by changes in climate and land use.

Within this broad goal, the Department maintains a focus on processes that are critical to understanding feedbacks between the land carbon cycle and climate and where lack of fundamental understanding currently limits the ability to predict the role of land as a source or sink for carbon in the coming decades to centuries. Broadly, the research in the Department shares the common goal to investigate processes that control how long carbon resides in ecosystem compartments, at spatial scales that span organisms to landscapes. Because of the importance of carbon to living organisms in storing energy and building structures, these processes are also fundamental to the functioning of ecosystems and their response to change.

At the organism (microbe or plant) scale, we investigate how environmental controls such as drought or substrate availability influence resource allocation and activity in ways that can alter the timescales of carbon storage. At the ecosystem scale, we investigate how biotic (e.g. community diversity) and abiotic factors (mineralogy or climate) alter land-atmosphere exchange and the timescales for stabilization or destabilization of C in soils. At the landscape scale, we assess how disturbance processes such as fire, drought, windthrow and herbivory, can alter ecosystem carbon stocks and cycling.

Approaches and Tools

Quantifying responses and feedbacks in complex, coupled systems requires a range of tools and approaches. Laboratory experiments manipulate individual factors such as temperature, biodiversity or nutrient availability to document how different components of the ecosystem respond to changing environmental conditions. We participate in large field experiments that manipulate biodiversity (Jena experiment) and disturbances such as fire (Tanguro experiment).  Field observations of gradients of biodiversity through land management (Biodiversity Exploratories), or windthrows (ATTO) provide long-term field ‘experiments’.  Links to our own Theory group, as well as other modeling groups in the Institute allow us to use our results to test theories/models of ecosystem/organism function. We also actively develop new analytical tools that allow us to evaluate the importance of processes across a range of spatial and temporal scales.

Recent Publications

Buessecker, S.; Sarno, A. F.; Reynolds, M. C.; Chavan, R.; Park, J.; Ortiz, M. F.; Pérez-Castillo, A. G.; Pisco, G. P.; Muñoz, J. D. U.; Reis, L. P. et al.; Ferreira-Ferreira, J.; Maia, J. M. F.; Holbert, K. E.; Penton, C. R.; Hall, S. J.; Gandhi, H.; Boëchat, I. G.; Gücker, B.; Ostrom, N. E.; Cadillo-Quiroz, H.: Coupled abiotic-biotic cycling of nitrous oxide in tropical peatlands. Nature Ecology & Evolution 6, pp. 1881 - 1890 (2022)
Mahecha, M. D.; Bastos, A.; Bohn, F. J.; Eisenhauer, N.; Feilhauer, H.; Hartmann, H.; Hickler, T.; Kalesse-Los, H.; Migliavacca, M.; Otto, F. E. L. et al.; Peng, J.; Quaas, J.; Tegen, I.; Weigelt, A.; Wendisch, M.; Wirth, C.: Biodiversity loss and climate extremes — study the feedbacks. Nature 612, pp. 30 - 32 (2022)
Wang, F.; Maksyutov, S.; Janardanan, R.; Tsuruta, A.; Ito, A.; Morino, I.; Yoshida, Y.; Tohjima, Y.; Kaiser, J. W.; Lan, X. et al.; Zhang, Y.; Mammarella, I.; Lavrič, J. V.; Matsunaga, T.: Atmospheric observations suggest methane emissions in north-eastern China growing with natural gas use. Scientific Reports 12, 18587 (2022)
Le Provost, G.; Schenk, N. V.; Penone, C.; Thiele, J.; Westphal, C.; Allan, E.; Ayasse, M.; Blüthgen, N.; Boeddinghaus, R. S.; Boesing, A. L. et al.; Bolliger, R.; Busch, V.; Fischer, M.; Gossner, M. M.; Hölzel, N.; Jung, K.; Kandeler, E.; Klaus, V. H.; Kleinebecker, T.; Leimer, S.; Marhan, S.; Morris, K.; Müller, S.; Neff, F.; Neyret, M.; Oelmann, Y.; Perović, D. J.; Peter, S.; Prati, D.; Rillig, M. C.; Saiz, H.; Schäfer, D.; Scherer-Lorenzen, M.; Schloter, M.; Schöning, I.; Schrumpf, M.; Steckel, J.; Steffan-Dewenter, I.; Tschapka, M.; Vogt, J.; Weiner, C.; Weisser, W.; Wells, K.; Werner, M.; Wilcke, W.; Manning, P.: The supply of multiple ecosystem services requires biodiversity across spatial scales. Nature Ecology & Evolution (2022)
Tanunchai, B.; Ji, L.; Schroeter, S. A.; Wahdan, S. F. M.; Larpkern, P.; Lehnert, A.-S.; Alves, E. G.; Gleixner, G.; Schulze, E. D.; Noll, M. et al.; Buscot, F.; Purahong, W.: A poisoned apple: First insights into community assembly and networks of the fungal pathobiome of healthy-looking senescing leaves of temperate trees in mixed forest ecosystem. Frontiers in Plant Science 13, 968218 (2022)
Groß, C.; Hossen, S.; Hartmann, H.; Noll, M.; Borken, W.: Biological nitrogen fixation and nifH gene abundance in deadwood of 13 different tree species. Biogeochemistry 161, pp. 353 - 371 (2022)
Yáñez-Serrano, A. M.; Aguilos, M.; Barbosa, C.; Bolaño-Ortiz, T. R.; Carbone, S.; Díaz-López, S.; Diez, S.; Dominutti, P.; Engelhardt, V.; Alves, E. G. et al.; Pedraza, J.; Saturno, J.; Tzompa-Sosa, Z. A.: The Latin America Early Career Earth System Scientist Network (LAECESS): addressing present and future challenges of the upcoming generations of scientists in the region. npj Climate and Atmospheric Science 5, 79 (2022)
DeArmond, D.; Ferraz, J. B. S.; Marra, D. M.; Amaral, M. R. M.; Lima, A. J. N.; Higuchi, N.: Logging intensity affects growth and lifespan trajectories for pioneer species in Central Amazonia. Forest Ecology and Management 522, 120450 (2022)
Baumann, K.; Eckhardt, K.-U.; Schöning, I.; Schrumpf, M.; Leinweber, P.: Clay fraction properties and grassland management imprint on soil organic matter composition and stability at molecular level. Soil Use and Management 38 (4), pp. 1578 - 1596 (2022)
Crow, S. E.; Sierra, C.: The climate benefit of sequestration in soils for warming mitigation. Biogeochemistry 161, pp. 71 - 84 (2022)

Go to Editor View

© J. Helm/BGC

Abteilung Biogeochemische Prozesse

Prof. Trumbore

Die Abteilung Biogeochemische Prozesse erforscht Schlüsselprozesse und Organismen, die den Austausch von Energie, Wasser und chemischen Verbindungen zwischen Ökosystemen und ihrer Umgebung regulieren, und wie diese Prozesse durch Veränderungen des Klimas und der Landnutzung beeinflusst werden.

Im Rahmen dieser weit gefassten Zielsetzung konzentriert sich die Abteilung auf Prozesse, die für das Verständnis der Rückkopplungen zwischen dem Kohlenstoffkreislauf an Land und dem Klima von entscheidender Bedeutung sind und bei denen das fehlende grundlegende Verständnis derzeit die Fähigkeit einschränkt, die Rolle des Bodens als Quelle oder Senke für Kohlenstoff in den kommenden Jahrzehnten bis Jahrhunderten vorherzusagen. Grundsätzlich verfolgen die Forschungsarbeiten der Abteilung das gemeinsame Ziel, die Prozesse zu untersuchen, die bestimmen, wie lange Kohlenstoff in den einzelnen Bereichen des Ökosystems verbleibt, und zwar auf einer räumlichen Skala, die von Organismen bis zu Landschaften reicht. Aufgrund der Bedeutung des Kohlenstoffs für lebende Organismen bei der Speicherung von Energie und dem Aufbau von Biomasse sind diese Prozesse auch von grundlegender Bedeutung für das Funktionieren von Ökosystemen und deren Reaktion auf Veränderungen.

Auf der Ebene der Organismen (Mikroben oder Pflanzen) untersuchen wir, wie Umweltfaktoren wie Trockenheit oder Substratverfügbarkeit die Ressourcenzuteilung und -aktivität in einer Weise beeinflussen, die die Zeitskala der Kohlenstoffspeicherung verändern kann. Auf der Ebene der Ökosysteme untersuchen wir, wie biotische (z. B. Vielfalt der Lebensgemeinschaften) und abiotische Faktoren (Mineralogie oder Klima) den Austausch zwischen Boden und Atmosphäre sowie die Zeitskalen für die Stabilisierung oder Destabilisierung von Kohlenstoff in Böden verändern. Auf der Landschaftsebene untersuchen wir, wie Störungsprozesse wie Feuer, Trockenheit, Windwurf und Fressfeinde die Kohlenstoffvorräte und -kreisläufe in Ökosystemen verändern können.

Vorgehensweisen und Methoden

Die Quantifizierung von Reaktionen und Wechselwirkungen in komplexen, gekoppelten Systemen erfordert eine Reihe von Methoden und Vorgehensweisen. In Laborexperimenten werden einzelne Faktoren wie Temperatur, Biodiversität oder Nährstoffverfügbarkeit manipuliert, um zu dokumentieren, wie verschiedene Komponenten des Ökosystems auf veränderte Umweltbedingungen reagieren. Wir beteiligen uns an großen Feldexperimenten, in denen die biologische Vielfalt (Jena-Experiment) und Störungen wie Feuer (Tanguro-Experiment) manipuliert werden. Freilandbeobachtungen von Gradienten der biologischen Vielfalt durch Landbewirtschaftung (Biodiversitätsexploratorien) oder Windwürfe (ATTO) bieten langfristige Freiland-'Experimente'.  Verbindungen zu unserer eigenen Theoriegruppe sowie zu anderen Modellierungsgruppen im Institut ermöglichen es uns, unsere Ergebnisse zu nutzen, um Theorien/Modelle zur Funktion von Ökosystemen/Organismen zu testen. Wir entwickeln auch aktiv neue Analyseinstrumente, die es uns ermöglichen, die Bedeutung von Prozessen auf verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Ebenen zu bewerten.

Aktuelle Veröffentlichungen

Brandt, L.; Poll, C.; Ballauff, J.; Schrumpf, M.; Bramble, D. S.; Schöning, I.; Ulrich, S.; Kaiser, K.; Mikutta, R.; Mikutta, C. et al.; Polle, A.; Kandeler, E.: Mineral type versus environmental filters: What shapes the composition and functions of fungal communities in the mineralosphere of forest soils? Soil Biology and Biochemistry 190, 109288 (2024)
Premaratne, K. M.; Chandrajithhttps, R.; Ratnayake, N. P.; Li, S.-L.; Gayantha, K.; Routhhttps, J.: North Atlantic forcing of Indian Winter Monsoon intensification: Evidence from Holocene sediments from the tropical Indian Ocean Island of Sri Lanka. The Holocene 34 (3), S. 272 - 282 (2024)
Wang, G.; Wang, M.; Xiao, L.; Sierra, C.; Chang, J.; Shi, Z.; Luo, Z.: Fast transit of carbon inputs in global soil profiles regardless of entering depth. Earth's Future 12 (2), e2023EF003982 (2024)
Rog, I.; Hilman, B.; Fox, H.; Yalin, D.; Qubaja, R.; Klein, T.: Increased belowground tree carbon allocation in a mature mixed forest in a dry versus a wet year. Global Change Biology 30 (2), e17172 (2024)
Neyret, M.; Le Provost, G.; Boesing, A. L.; Schneider, F. D.; Baulechner, D.; Bergmann, J.; de Vries, F.; Fiore-Donno, A. M.; Geisen, S.; Goldmann, K. et al.; Merges, A.; Saifutdinov, R. A.; Simons, N. K.; Tobias, J. A.; Zaitsev, A. S.; Gossner, M. M.; Jung, K.; Kandeler, E.; Krauss, J.; Penone, C.; Schloter, M.; Schulz, S.; Staab, M.; Wolters, V.; Apostolakis, A.; Birkhofer, K.; Boch, S.; Boeddinghaus, R. S.; Bolliger, R.; Bonkowski, M.; Buscot, F.; Dumack, K.; Fischer, M.; Gan, H. Y.; Heinze, J.; Hölzel, N.; John, K.; Klaus, V. H.; Kleinebecker, T.; Marhan, S.; Müller, J.; Renner, S. C.; Rillig, M.; Schenk, N. V.; Schöning, I.; Schrumpf, M.; Seibold, S.; Socher, S.; Solly, E. F.; Teuscher, M.; van Kleunen, M.; Wubet, T.; Manning, P.: A slow-fast trait continuum at the whole community level in relation to land-use intensification. Nature Communications 15, 1251 (2024)
Glatthorn, J.; Maier, B.; Binder, F.; Brang, P.; Frischbier, N.; Horna, V.; Klumpp, R.; Nikolova, P. S.; Aas, G.: Limited influence of air temperature and precipitation on six-year survival and growth of non-native tree species in a Central European multi-site field trial. Forest Ecology and Management 553, 121645 (2024)
Lange, M.; Azizi-Rad, M.; Dittmann, G.; Lange, D. F.; Orme, A. M.; Schroeter, S. A.; Simon, C.; Gleixner, G.: Stability and carbon uptake of the soil microbial community is determined by differences between rhizosphere and bulk soil. Soil Biology and Biochemistry 189, 109280 (2024)
Huang, J.; Ladd, S. N.; Ingrisch, J.; Kübert, A.; Meredith, L. K.; van Haren, J.; Bamberger, I.; Daber, L. E.; Kühnhammer, K.; Bailey, K. et al.; Hu, J.; Fudyma, J.; Shi, L.; Dippold, M. A.; Meeran, K.; Miller, L.; O’Brien, M. J.; Yang, H.; Herrera-Ramirez, D.; Hartmann, H.; Trumbore, S. E.; Bahn, M.; Werner, C.; Lehmann, M. M.: The mobilization and transport of newly fixed carbon are driven by plant water use in an experimental rainforest under drought. Journal of Experimental Botany, erae030 (2024)
Salomón, R. L.; Helm, J.; Gessler, A.; Grams, T. E. E.; Hilman, B.; Muhr, J.; Steppe, K.; Wittmann, C.; Hartmann, H.: The quandary of sources and sinks of CO2 efflux in tree stems - new insights and future directions. Tree Physiology (angenommen)
Xu, C.; Liu, H.; Ciais, P.; Hartmann, H.; Camarero, J. J.; Wu, X.; Hammond, W. M.; Allen, C. D.; Chen, F.: Enhanced drought exposure increasingly threatens more forests than observed. Earth's Future 12 (1), e2023EF003705 (2024)

 

Zur Redakteursansicht