Biod.AI.versity Observation & Integration (Bio.AI)

Biod.AI.versity Observation & Integration (Bio.AI)

Dr. Jana Waeldchen

Our mission

Our goal is to simplify, accelerate and increasingly automate global biodiversity monitoring through automated species identification in citizen science projects and remote sensing. Our specifically developed AI technology for species identification provides large amounts of data for this, and targeted science communication additionally contributes to raising public awareness for the protection of biodiversity.

Focus areas of the Bio.AI research group:

The Bio.AI research group combines three focus areas that each complement each other:

  • Automated species identification
  • Biodiversity monitoring
  • Citizen Science/Science communication

Automated species identification

Within this research focus, we develop and use innovative methods of artificial intelligence to automate species identification. As part of our research activities, the Flora Incognita app was developed. To date, the app can identify 4800 wild plants of Central Europe simply by taking photos in the field, resulting in many millions of plant observations including geolocation. By 2022, the app had been installed more than 5 million times.

Building on this successful framework, we are working on the automatic identification of other life forms such as phytoplankton, fungi and butterflies.

Key Publications:

Michael Rzanny et al. (2022)
Image-based automated recognition of 31 Poaceae species: The most relevant perspectives
Frontiers in Plant Science,12: 804140. doi: 10.3389/fpls.2021.804140

Roelvan Klink et al. (2022)
Emerging technologies revolutionise insect ecology and monitoring
Trends in Ecology & Evolution. doi: 
10.1016/j.tree.2022.06.001

Michael Rzanny et al. (2019)
Flowers, leaves or both? How to obtain suitable images for automated plant identification
Plant Methods 15, 77. doi: 10.1186/s13007-019-0462-4

Susanne Dunker et al. (2018)
Combining high‑throughput imaging flow cytometry and deep learning for efficient species and life‑cycle stage identification of phytoplankton
BMC Ecology 18, 51. doi: 10.1186/s12898-018-0209-5

 

Biodiversity Monitoring

The Bio.AI research group aims to simplify, accelerate and increasingly automate global biodiversity monitoring. Therefore, in this research area, we are currently focusing on the question of the extent to which automated species identification in combination with Citizen Science and remote sensing can contribute to biodiversity monitoring. The steadily growing number of plant occurrence data via the Flora Incognita app already provides us with important information:

  • When and where do which species flower? 
  • How much do the characteristics of a plant species vary? 
  • How do the composition of plant communities and the locations of plants change in connection with climate change and the type of underlying land use? 

Key publication

Miguel D. Mahecha et al. (2021)
Crowd-sourced plant occurrence data provide a reliable description of macroecological gradients
Ecography (Editors‘ Choice). doi: 10.1111/ecog.05492

 

Citizen Science & Science communication

Biodiversity monitoring data are often collected by trained persons, and usually only reach a small temporal and spatial coverage. Another limiting factor is the growing public loss in species knowledge. With the developement of automated species idenfication tools it is now possible that people without any species knowledge can collect biodiversity data. Those rarely follow a strict protocol regarding where, when, and how to record a species - resulting in a set of unstructured data.

Within the Bio.AI research group, we run two Citizen Science projects to collect plant species occurences: The Flora Incognita project, which collects opportunistic plant observations, and the Flora Capture project, where Citizen Scientists record plant findings in a set of predefined perspectives, resulting in a set of structured images. 

In order to reach as many people as possible to use our apps and collect plant occurrence data, we invest significant resources into science communication:

  • Social Media channels (Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Youtube)
  • Flora Incognita website and blog
  • Exhibitions and events (MS Wissenschaft, Long Night of Science)
  • Traditional PR like interviews, podcasts, articles

Key publications

Patrick Mäder et al. (2021)
The Flora Incognita app – Interactive plant species identification
Methods in Ecology and Evolution. 12: 1335– 1342; doi: 10.1111/2041-210X.13611

David Boho et al. (2020)
Flora Capture: a citizen science application for collecting structured plant observations,
BMC Bioinformatics 21, 576; doi:10.1186/s12859-020-03920-9

Projects

    
Flora Incognita - more than plant identification

Flora Incognita - more than plant identification

In order to make change/loss of biodiversity visible, species knowledge is key - not only among experts, but for anyone. We developed the mobile app “Flora Incognita” that leverages modern computer vision techniques such as deep neural networks with a "connected data" approach, using site information (e.g. phenology, location, date and time) and plant morphological traits for semi-automatic species identification. The collected data are used to answer questions of plant species monitoring and phenology. 
The app was released in 2018 and has reached 5M downloads by 2022. It is freely available for iOS and in the Google Play Store. More information can be found on the Flora Incognita website.
NaturaIncognita-creating a workflow platform for AI-based species identification
To address the loss of biodiversity, data on the state and change of biodiversity is needed across many life forms. In this “AI lighthouse” project, the existing frameworks for automated species identification via the "Flora Incognita" project are to be expanded to realise automatic identification for other species groups.
The project's workflow platform will provide a species identification service based on the latest machine learning methods. Pilot projects already include phytoplankton, butterflies and funghi.  more
planktAI
Automatic identification of microscopic algae for biodiversity assessment and trophic status estimation more
AI4Biodiv - Artificial intelligence in biodiversity research

AI4Biodiv - Artificial intelligence in biodiversity research

The project is about creating different benchmark data sets, further developing training algorithms for automatic species identification, interpreting the results and using contextual information in the recognition process. In the area of species and population monitoring, training algorithms and network architectures are applied and further developed specifically for remote sensing data. In modelling, AI-based models are developed that address both the spatial and temporal context at different scales.
BetterWeeds
The aim of the project is to develop a framework for sustainable weed management using autonomous weed detection, AI-based identification of weed species, and geo-referenced weed distribution maps taking site-specific characteristics of the individual field into account. Based on these maps, management strategies for weed control on the respective fields will be developed and tested under field conditions. more
  

Key Papers

Journal Article (19)

1.
Journal Article
Jana Wäldchen, Hans Christian Wittich, Michael Rzanny, Alice Fritz, and Patrick Mäder, "Towards more effective identification keys: A study of people identifying plant species characters," People and Nature (2022).
2.
Journal Article
Roel van Klink, Tom August, Yves Bas, Paul Bodesheim, Aletta Bonn, Frode Fossøy, Toke T. Høye, Eelke Jongejans, Myles H.M. Menz, Andreia Miraldo, Tomas Roslin, Helen E. Roy, Ireneusz Ruczyński, Dmitry Schigel, Livia Schäffler, Julie K. Sheard, Cecilie Svenningsen, Georg F. Tschan, Jana Wäldchen, Vera M.A. Zizka, Jens Åström, and Diana E. Bowler, "Emerging technologies revolutionise insect ecology and monitoring," Trends in Ecology and Evolution 37 (10), 872-885 (2022).
3.
Journal Article
Kevin Karbstein, Salvatore Tomasello, Ladislav Hodac, Natascha Wagner, Pia Marinček, Birthe Hilkka Barke, Claudia Paetzold, and Elvira Hörandl, "Untying Gordian knots: unraveling reticulate polyploid plant evolution by genomic data using the large Ranunculus auricomus species complex," New Phytologist 235 (5), 2081-2098 (2022).
4.
Journal Article
Negin Katal, Michael Rzanny, Patrick Mäder, and Jana Wäldchen, "Deep learning in plant phenological research: A systematic literature review," Frontiers in Plant Science 13, 805738 (2022).
5.
Journal Article
Bernhard Schmid, Martin Schmitz, Michael Rzanny, Michael Scherer-Lorenzen, Peter N. Mwangi, Wolfgang W. Weisser, Andrew Hector, Roland Schmid, and Dan F. B. Flynn, "Removing subordinate species in a biodiversity experiment to mimic observational field studies," Grassland Research 1 (1), 53-62 (2022).
Show more
Follow link for a complete list of publications from the Department of Biogeochemical Integration more
Go to Editor View

Biod.AI.versity Observation & Integration (Bio.AI)

Biod.AI.versity Observation & Integration (Bio.AI)

Dr. Jana Wäldchen

Unsere Mission

Unser Ziel ist es, das globale Biodiversitätsmonitoring durch automatisierte Artbestimmung in Citizen Science Projekten und durch Fernerkundung zu vereinfachen, zu beschleunigen und zunehmend zu automatisieren. Unsere eigens entwickelte KI-Technologie zur Artbestimmung liefert dafür große Datenmengen, und eine gezielte Wissenschaftskommunikation trägt zusätzlich dazu bei, die Öffentlichkeit für den Schutz der Biodiversität zu sensibilisieren.

Schwerpunkte der Bio.AI-Forschungsgruppe:

Die Bio.AI-Forschungsgruppe vereint drei Schwerpunktbereiche, die sich gegenseitig ergänzen:

  • Automatisierte Artbestimmung
  • Monitoring der biologischen Vielfalt
  • Citizen Science/Wissenschaftskommunikation

Automatisierte Artbestimmung

Im Rahmen dieses Forschungsschwerpunkts entwickeln und nutzen wir innovative Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz, um die Bestimmung von Arten zu automatisieren. Im Rahmen unserer Forschungsarbeit wurde die App "Flora Incognita" entwickelt. Bis heute kann die App 4800 Wildpflanzen Mitteleuropas einfach durch die Aufnahme von Fotos in der Natur identifizieren, und wir danken allen Nutzerinnen und Nutzer für vielen Millionen Pflanzenbeobachtungen mit Fundort. Bis 2022 wurde die App mehr als 5 Millionen Mal installiert.

Darauf aufbauend arbeiten wir an der automatischen Bestimmung von anderen Lebensformen wie Phytoplankton, Pilzen und Schmetterlingen.

Die wichtigsten Publikationen:

Michael Rzanny et al. (2022)
Image-based automated recognition of 31 Poaceae species: The most relevant perspectives
Frontiers in Plant Science,12: 804140. doi: 10.3389/fpls.2021.804140

Roelvan Klink et al. (2022)
Emerging technologies revolutionise insect ecology and monitoring
Trends in Ecology & Evolution. doi: 10.1016/j.tree.2022.06.001

Michael Rzanny et al. (2019)
Flowers, leaves or both? How to obtain suitable images for automated plant identification
Plant Methods 15, 77. doi: 10.1186/s13007-019-0462-4

Susanne Dunker et al. (2018)
Combining high‑throughput imaging flow cytometry and deep learning for efficient species and life‑cycle stage identification of phytoplankton
BMC Ecology 18, 51. doi: 10.1186/s12898-018-0209-5

 

 

Biodiversitätsmonitoring

Die Forschungsgruppe Bio.AI hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, das globale Biodiversitätsmonitoring zu vereinfachen, zu beschleunigen und zunehmend zu automatisieren. Daher konzentrieren wir uns in diesem Forschungsbereich derzeit auf die Frage, inwieweit die automatisierte Artbestimmung in Kombination mit Citizen Science und Fernerkundung zum Biodiversitätsmonitoring beitragen kann. Die stetig wachsende Zahl von Daten zu Pflanzenvorkommen über die Flora Incognita-App liefert uns bereits wichtige Informationen:  

  • When and where do which species flower? 
  • How much do the characteristics of a plant species vary? 
  • How do the composition of plant communities and the locations of plants change in connection with climate change and the type of underlying land use? 

Die wichtigsten Publikationen:

Miguel D. Mahecha et al. (2021)
Crowd-sourced plant occurrence data provide a reliable description of macroecological gradients
Ecography (Editors‘ Choice). doi: 10.1111/ecog.05492

 

 

Citizen Science & Wissenschaftskommunikation

Daten zur Erfassung der biologischen Vielfalt werden häufig von geschulten Personen erhoben und decken meist nur einen kleinen zeitlichen und räumlichen Bereich ab. Ein weiterer einschränkender Faktor ist der zunehmende Verlust an Artenkenntnis in der Öffentlichkeit. Mit der Entwicklung automatischer Instrumente zur Artbestimmung ist es nun möglich, dass auch Personen ohne jegliche Artenkenntnis Daten zur biologischen Vielfalt erheben können. Diese befolgen jedoch nur selten ein strenges Protokoll darüber, wo, wann und wie eine Art zu erfassen ist, was zu einem unstrukturierten Datensatz führt.

Im Rahmen der Bio.AI-Forschungsgruppe führen wir zwei Citizen-Science-Projekte durch, bei denen das Vorkommen von Pflanzenarten erfasst wird: Das Projekt Flora Incognita, das opportunistische Pflanzenbeobachtungen sammelt, und das Projekt Flora Capture, bei dem Citizen Scientists Pflanzenfunde in einer bestimmten Anzahl von vordefinierten Perspektiven aufnehmen, so dass eine Serie von strukturierten Bildern entsteht. 

Um möglichst viele Menschen zu erreichen, die unsere Apps nutzen und Daten über Pflanzenvorkommen sammeln, investieren wir umfangreiche Ressourcen in die Wissenschaftskommunikation:

  • Social-Media-Kanäle (Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Youtube)
  • Flora Incognita Website und Blog
  • Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen (MS Wissenschaft, Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften)
  • Traditionelle PR wie Interviews, Podcasts, Artikel

Die wichtigsten Publikationen:

Patrick Mäder et al. (2021)
The Flora Incognita app – Interactive plant species identification
Methods in Ecology and Evolution. 12: 1335– 1342; doi: 10.1111/2041-210X.13611

David Boho et al. (2020)
Flora Capture: a citizen science application for collecting structured plant observations,
BMC Bioinformatics 21, 576; doi:10.1186/s12859-020-03920-9

Team

     

 

Projekte

     
Flora Incognita - mehr als Pflanzenbestimmung

Flora Incognita - mehr als Pflanzenbestimmung

Um den Wandel bzw. den Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt sichtbar zu machen, ist Artenkenntnis der Schlüssel - nicht nur für Expert*innen, sondern für alle Menschen. Wir haben die App "Flora Incognita" entwickelt, die mit Hilfe moderner Bildverarbeitungstechniken wie tiefen neuronalen Netzen und einem "Connected Data"-Ansatz Standortinformationen (z. B. Phänologie, Standort, Datum und Uhrzeit) und morphologische Merkmale von Pflanzen zur halbautomatischen Artenbestimmung nutzt. Die gesammelten Daten dienen dem Monitoring von Pflanzenarten und der Phänologie. 
Die App wurde 2018 veröffentlicht und wurde bis 2022 bereits 5 Millionen Mal heruntergeladen. Sie ist kostenlos für iOS und im Google Play Store erhältlich. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Flora-Incognita-Website.
NaturaIncognita-Schaffung einer Workflow-Plattform für AI-basierte Artbestimmung

NaturaIncognita-
Schaffung einer Workflow-Plattform für AI-basierte Artbestimmung

Um dem Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt entgegenzuwirken, werden Daten über den Stand und die Veränderung der biologischen Vielfalt für viele Lebensformen benötigt. In diesem "KI-Leuchtturmprojekt" sollen die bestehenden Rahmenbedingungen für die automatisierte Artbestimmung des Projekts "Flora Incognita" erweitert werden, um eine automatische Bestimmung für andere Artengruppen zu ermöglichen.
Die Workflow-Plattform des Projekts wird einen Service zur Artbestimmung anbieten, der auf den neuesten Methoden des maschinellen Lernens basiert. Zu den Pilotprojekten gehören bereits Phytoplankton, Schmetterlinge und Pilze.
Plankt.AI 

Plankt.AI 

Automatische Bestimmung von mikroskopischen Algen zur Bewertung der biologischen Vielfalt und des trophischen Zustands von Gewässern.
KI4Biodiv - Künstliche Intelligenz in der Biodiversitätsforschung

KI4Biodiv - Künstliche Intelligenz in der Biodiversitätsforschung

In diesem Projekt geht es darum, verschiedene Benchmark-Datensätze zu erstellen, Trainingsalgorithmen für die automatische Artbestimmung weiterzuentwickeln, die Ergebnisse zu interpretieren und kontextbezogene Informationen in den Erkennungsprozess einzubeziehen.

Im Bereich des Arten- und Bestandsmonitorings werden Trainingsalgorithmen und Netzwerkarchitekturen speziell für Fernerkundungsdaten angewendet und weiterentwickelt.

Im Bereich der Modellierung werden KI-basierte Modelle entwickelt, die sowohl den räumlichen als auch den zeitlichen Kontext auf verschiedenen Skalen berücksichtigen.
BetterWeeds

BetterWeeds

Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines Rahmens für nachhaltiges Unkrautmanagement durch autonome Unkrauterkennung, KI-gestützte Bestimmung von Unkrautarten und georeferenzierte Unkrautverteilungskarten, die die standortspezifischen Merkmale des jeweiligen Feldes berücksichtigen. Auf der Grundlage dieser Karten werden Managementstrategien zur Unkrautbekämpfung auf den jeweiligen Feldern entwickelt und unter Feldbedingungen getestet.
 
     

Wichtige Publikationen

Zeitschriftenartikel (19)

1.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Jana Wäldchen, Hans Christian Wittich, Michael Rzanny, Alice Fritz, and Patrick Mäder, "Towards more effective identification keys: A study of people identifying plant species characters," People and Nature (2022).
2.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Roel van Klink, Tom August, Yves Bas, Paul Bodesheim, Aletta Bonn, Frode Fossøy, Toke T. Høye, Eelke Jongejans, Myles H.M. Menz, Andreia Miraldo, Tomas Roslin, Helen E. Roy, Ireneusz Ruczyński, Dmitry Schigel, Livia Schäffler, Julie K. Sheard, Cecilie Svenningsen, Georg F. Tschan, Jana Wäldchen, Vera M.A. Zizka, Jens Åström, and Diana E. Bowler, "Emerging technologies revolutionise insect ecology and monitoring," Trends in Ecology and Evolution 37 (10), 872-885 (2022).
3.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Kevin Karbstein, Salvatore Tomasello, Ladislav Hodac, Natascha Wagner, Pia Marinček, Birthe Hilkka Barke, Claudia Paetzold, and Elvira Hörandl, "Untying Gordian knots: unraveling reticulate polyploid plant evolution by genomic data using the large Ranunculus auricomus species complex," New Phytologist 235 (5), 2081-2098 (2022).
4.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Negin Katal, Michael Rzanny, Patrick Mäder, and Jana Wäldchen, "Deep learning in plant phenological research: A systematic literature review," Frontiers in Plant Science 13, 805738 (2022).
5.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Bernhard Schmid, Martin Schmitz, Michael Rzanny, Michael Scherer-Lorenzen, Peter N. Mwangi, Wolfgang W. Weisser, Andrew Hector, Roland Schmid, and Dan F. B. Flynn, "Removing subordinate species in a biodiversity experiment to mimic observational field studies," Grassland Research 1 (1), 53-62 (2022).
Mehr anzeigen

Weitere interessante Beiträge

Zur Redakteursansicht