Model-Data Integration

Model-Data Integration

Dr. Nuno Carvalhais

Mission

In general, we are curious about interactions in carbon and water dynamics in terrestrial ecosystems in an Earth system context, and are keen on learning by bringing together models and observations. We want to advance understanding in interactions between terrestrial ecosystems and climate with a particular relevance to the global carbon and water biogeochemical cycles. The MDI group explores strategies and develops methods to extract and transfer information from data to models to investigate the functioning --dynamics and sensitivities-- of terrestrial ecosystems and its representation in modeling structures. Ultimately, we aim at identifying approaches that are robust against inevitable challenges in data and models to represent complex Earth system processes.

Focus areas

Model-data-integration : Exploration of multiple-constraint model-data assimilation approaches using in situ and Earth Observation data-streams of water and carbon states and fluxes

We have been investigating in situ dynamics of carbon and water fluxes for parameter inversion, for model selection and for understanding parameter variability; and, at global scales, to investigate controls on trends in [CO2]atm and evaluate contrasting descriptions of large scale hydrological dynamics. The focus on "multiple-constraints" approaches and combining classical inverse parameter estimation techniques with machine learning approaches paves way to SINDBAD framework (see below), and the development of hybrid modeling approaches therein. We are very interested in methodological aspects of breeding model-data-assimilation and machine learning approaches to maximize the information flow from observations to models.

Terrestrial C-H2O dynamics across scales : Exploration of observation-driven approaches to diagnose (1) determinants of carbon sink/source strength and (2) carbon-water coupling strength at ecosystem and watershed scales.

Based on statistical approaches, we study carbon sink/source strength for the FLUXNET domain, and investigate, in addition to climate, the importance of stand age and biomass dynamics and distribution. The approach paves way for improvements in observation-based upscaling of NEP fluxes. In a strong collaboration with GDM, we support the development of observational-based approaches to diagnose physiological responses to water stress and the use of different approaches to partition surface-atmosphere water fluxes.

Ecosystem carbon turnover times: Diagnosing and interpreting mechanisms underlying the environmental controls on ecosystem turnover times of carbon.

We investigate carbon turnover times as an observational diagnostic on the strength of the land-atmosphere carbon cycle coupling. We have been working on breaking down an whole ecosystem estimate into different components (vegetation and soil), revisiting the importance of scale and equilibrium assumption to investigate the robust features in the observation-derived turnover times. We are interested in observational and methodological aspects to understand biotic and abiotic controls on temporal dynamics of carbon turnover; in developing further concepts to constraint projections from Earth System Models; in contributing to observational dataset development

Team

Other members of the department actively involved in MDI activities

Weijie Zhang, Basil Kraft, Nora Linscheid

Guests

Name
Shanning Bao
Simon Besnard
Naixin Fan
Doctoral Researcher
Catarina Moura

Key Papers

Besnard, S.; Carvalhais, N.; Arain, A.; Black, A.; de Bruin, S.; Buchmann, N.; Cescatti, A.; Chen, J.; Clevers, J. G. P. W.; Desai, A. R. et al.: Quantifying the effect of forest age in annual net forest carbon balance. Environmental Research Letters 13, 124018 (2018), doi.org/10.1088/1748-9326/aaeaeb

Fan, N.; Koirala, S.; Reichstein, M.; Thurner, M.; Avitabile, V.; Santoro, M.; Ahrens, B.; Weber, U.; Carvalhais, N.: Apparent ecosystem carbon turnover time: uncertainties and robust features. Earth System Science Data 12 (4), pp. 2517 - 2536 (2020), doi.org/10.5194/essd-12-2517-2020

Jenny, J.-P.; Koirala, S.; Gregory-Eaves, I.; Francus, P.; Niemann, C.; Ahrens, B.; Brovkin, V.; Baud, A.; Ojala, A. E. K.; Normandeau, A. et al.: Human and climate global-scale imprint on sediment transfer during the Holocene. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 116 (46), pp. 22972 - 22976 (2019), doi.org/10.1073/pnas.1908179116

Koirala, S.; Jung, M.; Reichstein, M.; de Graaf, I. E. M.; Camps-Valls, G.; Ichii, K.; Papale, D.; Raduly, B.; Schwalm, C. R.; Tramontana, G. et al.: Global distribution of groundwater-vegetation spatial covariation. Geophysical Research Letters 44 (9), pp. 4134 - 4142 (2017), doi/10.1002/2017GL072885

Current MDI Projects

Earth System Deep Learning for Seasonal Fire Forecasting in Europe (SeasFire)
Start: March 2022
End: March 2023
PI / Co-PI: Nuno Carvalhais
Participating BGI member: Nuno Carvalhais, Lazaro Alonso
Funding: ESA more
Earth System Models for the Future
Duration: 06/2021 - 05/2025
PI/Co-PIs: Nuno Carvalhais, Sönke Zaehle

ESM2025 – Earth system models for the future is an ambitious European research project on Earth System modelling that will build a novel generation of Earth system models fitted to support the development of mitigation and adaptation strategies in line with the commitments of the Paris Agreement.

Participating department members: Nuno Carvalhais, Sönke Zaehle more
Project Office Biomass
Duration: 07/2020 - 04/2023
PI/Co-PIs: Nuno Carvalhais, Markus Reichstein

Within ESA’s Earth Explorers, the primary objective of BIOMASS is to improve our understanding on the role of the land biosphere on the global carbon cycle, with clear implications in a context of climate change. Project Office BIOMASS aims to synthesize, produce and disseminate relevant information within the biomass community; identify gaps and investigate solutions within the context of BIOMASS; and establish communication to maintain a necessary dialogue within the broader context of the BIOMASS mission.

Participating department members: Hui Yang, Stefanie Burkert, Nuno Carvalhais, Siyuan Wang, Markus Reichstein more
DeepCube
Duration: 01/2021 - 12/2023
PI/Co-PIs: Nuno Carvalhais

DeepCube is a research project that aims to explore and develop new deep learning approaches to address relevant Earth system dynamics related to localized impacts of extreme events (drought and heat waves) and ecosystem disturbances (wildfires), including impacts of climate variability on migration flows, through AI-based understanding, quantification and prediction.

Participating department members: Nuno Carvalhais, Fabian Gans and Markus Reichstein, Christian Requeña-Mesa, Dushyant Kumar more
SINDBAD

SINDBAD

We have been working closely with GDM in building Strategies to Integrate Data and Biogeochemical models in Development (SINDBAD), a modular framework for model-data-integration. Currently, SINDBAD supports several projects on water-carbon coupling and vegetation dynamics across scales: Graph by Sujan Koirala and Martin Jung (GDM), and the PhD projects of Tina Trautmann, Hoontaek Lee and Siyuan Wang.

Analysis of climate constraints on gross primary productivity based on light use efficiency models : Here, Shanning analyzes the patterns of climate sensitivities of gross primary productivity using FLUXNET data and global sun-induced fluorescence data. The project focuses on the evaluation and prediction of climate sensitivity functions and model parameters based on model-data fusion strategy.

Ecosystem transpiration from eddy covariance, where Jake develops and assesses methods for partitioning the evapotranspiration flux measured from eddy covariance into the transpiration and abiotic evaporation components. The methods are applied to the FLUXNET dataset, giving a global perspective on plant water use.

Ecological process understanding across time scales: In her PhD project, Nora explores time-scale dependencies between vegetation and climate globally, to answer questions such as: How does the decadal sensitivity of vegetation to climate differ from seasonal sensitivity? Can we extrapolate atmosphere-biosphere relations from one time scale to the other? Where and when do we need to account for such time-scale dependencies in vegetation modeling and monitoring?

Water-carbon-cycle interactions across scales : In his PhD project, Hoontaek attempts to answer 1) how interactions between water and carbon cycles form observations of each cycle and 2) who drives whom at which scales. To do so, Hoontaek will take advantage of the stream of global datasets and a model-data-fusion framework.

Change in global vegetation : Here Siyuan explores data-assimilation to study vegetation processes and ecosystem responses to environment at different spatio-temporal scales. The project investigates the links between ecosystem carbon fluxes and changes in vegetation carbon states, integrating vegetation mortality and metabolic activity based on a novel modular modeling framework and different observational data streams.

Inter-annual variability in terrestrial ecosystem fluxes, in this PhD project, Ranit endeavours to develop a hybrid modelling approach to simulate water and carbon fluxes at the ecosystem level. The project will exploit large multi-variate Earth Observation datasets to explore causal linkages between changing climate and ecosystem responses by taking advantage of both physically based models (physically interpretable) and machine learning approaches (data-adaptive)

original

Work in progress.

https://agupubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/2017GL072885

Click for paper.

Work in progress.

Click for paper.

Work in progress.

Work in progress.

Alumni

Alumni

Name

Data & Tools

Carbon turnover times: Naixin has synthesized and processed multiple global datasets of gross primary productivity, soil carbon, and vegetation carbon, to generate a large ensemble of global whole ecosystem carbon turnover times (Fan et al., 2020). The previous dataset developed by Nuno has already been used for evaluation of Earth System Models (Carvalhais et al., 2014). Both these data are publicly available through the data portal of Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry.

ESMValTool: The Earth System Model Evaluation Tool (ESMValTool) is a community-development that aims at improving, diagnosing and understanding the causes and effects of model biases and inter-model spread. Within CRESCENDO project, Sujan contributed an ESMValTool “recipe” that diagnoses the ESM simulations of 𝝉.

Forest age: based on forest inventory data, Simon developed a ML model to derive forest stand age from global remote sensing and climate data.

Global Aboveground Biomass: we collaborated with GAMMA Remote Sensing, within the GlobBiomass ESA DUE consortium, to develop a global high resolution map of above ground biomass. The data can be found here: https://doi.pangaea.de/10.1594/PANGAEA.894711.

Lambda: Çağlar (GDM/MDI) developed a new ecohydrological dataset of metrics characterizing the vegetation dynamics under moisture limitation in Africa using daily time series of Fraction of Vegetation Cover (FVC) from the geostationary METEOSAT satellite (Küçük et al., 2020).

TEA: Transpiration Estimation Algorithm: Jake (GDM/MDI) makes available data (https://zenodo.org/record/3978408#.YECpgWLPx_V), the algorithms and some of the tools developed in investigating the evapotranspiration flux partitioning from eddy covariance data (https://github.com/jnelson18/).

Publications

Journal Article (94)

1.
Pacheco-Labrador, J.; Migliavacca, M.; Ma, X.; Mahecha, M. D.; Carvalhais, N.; Weber, U.; Benavides, R.; Bouriaud, O.; Barnoaie, I.; Coomesl, D. A. et al.; Bohn, F. J.; Kraemer, G.; Heide, U.; Huth, A.; Wirth, C.: Challenging the link between functional and spectral diversity with radiative transfer modeling and data. Remote Sensing of Environment 280, 113170 (2022)
2.
Son, R.; Ma, P.-L.; Wang , H.; Rasch, P. J.; Wang, S.-Y. (.; Kim, H.; Jeong , J.-H.; Lim , K.-S. S.; Yoon, J.-H.: Deep Learning provides substantial improvements to county-level fire weather forecasting over the western United States. Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems 14 (10), e2022MS002995 (2022)
3.
Küçük, Ç.; Koirala, S.; Carvalhais, N.; Miralles, D. G.; Reichstein, M.; Jung, M.: Observation-based assessment of secondary water effects on seasonal vegetation decay across Africa. Frontiers in Big Data 5, 967477 (2022)
4.
Anderegg, W. R. L.; Wu, C.; Acil, N.; Carvalhais, N.; Pugh, T. A. M.; Sadler, J. P.; Seidl, R.: A climate risk analysis of Earth’s forests in the 21st century. Science 377 (6610), pp. 1099 - 1103 (2022)
5.
Kondylatos, S.; Prapas, I.; Ronco , M.; Papoutsis , I.; Camps-Valls , G.; Piles , M.; Fernández-Torres , M.-Á.; Carvalhais, N.: Wildfire danger prediction and understanding with deep learning. Geophysical Research Letters (accepted)
Show more

About joining our team....

Over the years we have been hosting internships, students working on their Masters thesis, and mostly the development of PhD and Postdoc research projects. These have been opportunities for training and for the development of collaborative research that have been mutually appreciated, and where I have seen that we have grown as a group. If you are interested in working with us, feel free to get in touch. We announce opportunities here and in the context of the IMPRS for PhD projects.

CRESCENDO
Duration: 11/2015 - 03/2021

In CRESCENDO, Sujan and Nuno evaluate the carbon cycle dynamics in European Earth System Models and contribute to the implementation of model evaluation diagnostics of carbon turnover times in the ESMValTool.

Contact: Sönke Zaehle more
Duration: 11/2018 - 10/2019

In this project, we'll work on creating a multi-decadal record of biomass estimates from multiple Earth Observation datasets and investigate the integration of these new remote sensing data streams into an analysis of ecosystem dynamics and modelling

Contact: Nuno Carvalhais more
Duration: 04/2018 - 09/2019

The Earth System Data Lab (ESDL) is a multi-variate data set of essential Earth System variables on a common grid and sharing a common data model. The main objective of the ESDL activity is to establish and operate a service to the scientific community that greatly facilitates access and exploitation of the multivariate data set in the ESDL and by this means advances the understanding of the interactions between the ocean-land-atmosphere system and society.

Contact: Miguel Mahecha more
Duration: 01/2015 - 12/2017

The main purpose of the ESA DUE GlobBiomass project is to better characterise and to reduce uncertainties of AGB estimates by developing an innovative synergistic mapping approach in five regional sites for the epochs 2005, 2010 and 2015 and for one global map for the year 2010.

Contact: Nuno Carvalhais, Markus Reichstein more
Duration: 06/2009 - 05/2013

Carbo Extremes aims to improve our understanding of the terrestrial carbon cycle in response to climate variability and extreme events

Contact: Christian Beer, Nuno Carvalhais, Dorothea Frank, Miguel Mahecha, Markus Reichstein, Xiuchen Wu, Jakob Zscheischler more
Duration: 11/2010 - 2/2016

EMBRACE brings together the leading Earth System Models (ESMs) in Europe around a common set of objectives to improve our ability to simulate the Earth System and make reliable projections of future global change.

Contact: Nuno Carvalhais, Martin Jung, Markus Reichstein, Sönke Zaehle more
Duration: 04/2010 - 03/2013

Apparent ecosystem carbon turnover time: uncertainties and robust features

Contact: Matthias Forkel, Markus Reichstein more

CARBONES

Duration: 04/2010 - 03/2013

A novel approach for quantifying and understanding CO2 surface fluxes is proposed with CARBONES. It is a global information system that will address in a comprehensive and accurate way the quantification and understanding of the distribution of CO2 fluxes, carbon pools and underlying processes.

Contact: Matthias Forkel, Markus Reichstein

GEOCARBON

Duration: 10/2011 - 09/2014

GEOCARBON aims at designing a coordinated Global Carbon Observation and Analysis System, addressing the climate targets of the Group on Earth Observations (GEO) toward building a Global Earth Observation System of Systems (GEOSS) for carbon.

Contact: Nuno Carvalhais, Christoph Gerbig, Martin Heimann, Martin Jung, Christoph Köstler, Manos Kalomenopoulos, Miguel Mahecha, Markus Reichstein, Gregor Schürmann, Sönke Zaehle

GHG-Europe

Duration: 01/2010 - 09/2013

Greenhouse gas management in European land use systems

Contact: Martin Heimann, Christoph Gerbig, Jošt Valentin Lavric, Antje Moffat, Markus Reichstein, Enrico Tomelleri, Sönke Zaehle
Go to Editor View

Modell Daten-Integration

Modell Daten-Integration

Dr. Nuno Carvalhais

Motivation

Generell sind wir neugierig auf die Wechselwirkungen der Kohlenstoff- und Wasserdynamik in terrestrischen Ökosystemen im Kontext des Erdsystems und sind daran interessiert, durch die Zusammenführung von Modellen und Beobachtungen zu lernen. Wir wollen das Verständnis für die Wechselwirkungen zwischen terrestrischen Ökosystemen und dem Klima verbessern, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die globalen biogeochemischen Kohlenstoff- und Wasserkreisläufe. Die MDI-Gruppe erforscht Strategien und entwickelt Methoden, um Informationen aus Daten zu extrahieren und auf Modelle zu übertragen, um die Funktionsweise - Dynamik und Empfindlichkeiten - terrestrischer Ökosysteme und ihre Darstellung in Modellstrukturen zu untersuchen. Letztlich geht es uns darum, Ansätze zu finden, die robust gegenüber den unvermeidlichen Herausforderungen sind, die Daten und Modelle bei der Darstellung komplexer Erdsystemprozesse mit sich bringen.

Schwerpunktbereiche

Modell-Daten-Integration: Erforschung von Modell-Daten-Assimilationsansätzen mit mehreren Einschränkungen unter Verwendung von In-situ- und Erdbeobachtungsdatenströmen von Wasser- und Kohlenstoffzuständen und -flüssen.

Wir haben die In-situ-Dynamik der Kohlenstoff- und Wasserflüsse für die Parameterinversion, für die Modellauswahl und für das Verständnis der Parametervariabilität untersucht. Auf globaler Ebene haben wir die Kontrolle über die Trends in CO2 untersucht und kontrastierende Beschreibungen der großräumigen hydrologischen Dynamik evaluiert. Der Fokus auf "Multiple-Constraints"-Ansätze und die Kombination klassischer inverser Parameterschätzverfahren mit Ansätzen des maschinellen Lernens ebnet den Weg für das SINDBAD-Framework (siehe unter „aktuelle Projekte“) und die Entwicklung hybrider Modellierungsansätze in diesem Rahmen. Wir sind sehr an den methodischen Aspekten der Kombination von Modell-Daten-Assimilation und maschinellen Lernansätzen interessiert, um den Informationsfluss von Beobachtungen zu Modellen zu maximieren.

Terrestrische C-H2O-Dynamik auf verschiedenen Skalen: Erforschung von beobachtungsbasierten Ansätzen, um (1) die Determinanten der Stärke der Kohlenstoffsenke/-quelle und (2) die Stärke der Kohlenstoff-Wasser-Kopplung auf der Ebene von Ökosystemen und Wassereinzugsgebieten zu bestimmen.

Basierend auf statistischen Ansätzen untersuchen wir die Stärke der Kohlenstoffsenke/-quelle im FLUXNET-Gebiet und untersuchen neben dem Klima auch die Bedeutung des Alters der Bestände sowie die Dynamik und Verteilung der Biomasse. Der Ansatz ebnet den Weg für Verbesserungen bei der beobachtungsbasierten Hochskalierung von NEP-Flüssen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Forschungsgruppe „GDM“ unterstützen wir die Entwicklung von beobachtungsbasierten Ansätzen zur Diagnose von physiologischen Reaktionen auf Wasserstress und die Verwendung verschiedener Ansätze zur Aufteilung der Wasserflüsse zwischen Oberfläche und Atmosphäre.

Umsatzzeiten von Kohlenstoff in Ökosystemen: Wir diagnostizieren und interpretieren die Mechanismen, die den Umweltkontrollen der Umsatzzeiten von Kohlenstoff in Ökosystemen zugrunde liegen.

Wir untersuchen die Kohlenstoff-Umsatzzeiten als Beobachtungsdiagnose für die Stärke der Kopplung des Kohlenstoffkreislaufs zwischen Land und Atmosphäre. Wir haben eine Schätzung des gesamten Ökosystems in verschiedene Komponenten (Vegetation und Boden) untergliedert und die Bedeutung der Skala und der Gleichgewichtsannahme überprüft, um die robusten Merkmale in den aus Beobachtungen abgeleiteten Umsatzzeiten zu untersuchen. Wir sind an Beobachtungen und methodischen Aspekten interessiert, um die biotischen und abiotischen Einflüsse auf die zeitliche Dynamik des Kohlenstoffumsatzes zu verstehen, weitere Konzepte zu entwickeln, um Projektionen von Erdsystemmodellen einzuschränken und zur Entwicklung von Beobachtungsdaten beizutragen.

Wichtige Publikationen

Wichtige Papiere nur auf Englisch verfügbar

Fan, N., Koirala, S., Reichstein, M., Thurner, M., Avitabile, V., Santoro, M., Ahrens, B., Weber, U., Carvalhais, N. (2020).
Apparent ecosystem carbon turnover time: uncertainties and robust features.
Earth System Science Data, 12(4), 2517-2536.
Besnard, S., Carvalhais, N., Arain, A., Black, A., de Bruin, S., Buchmann, N., Cescatti, A., Chen, J., Clevers, J. G. P. W., Desai, A. R., Gough, C. M., Havrankova, K., Herold, M., Hörtnagl, L., Jung, M., Knohl, A., Kruijt, B., Krupkova, L., Law, B. E., Lindroth, A., Noormets, A., Roupsard, O., Steinbrecher, R., Varlagin, A., Vincke, C., Reichstein, M. (2018).
Quantifying the effect of forest age in annual net forest carbon balance.
Environmental Research Letters, 13
Jenny, J. P. , Koirala, S., Gregory-Eaves, I., Francus, P., Niemann, C., Ahrens, B., ... & Carvalhais, N. (2019).
Human and climate global-scale imprint on sediment transfer during the Holocene.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 116(46), 22972-22976
Nelson, J. A., Carvalhais, N., Migliavacca, M., Reichstein, M., Jung, M. (2018).
Water-stress-induced breakdown of carbon–water relations: indicators from diurnal FLUXNET patterns.
Biogeosciences, 15(8), 2433-2447
Koirala, S., Jung, M., Reichstein, M., de Graaf, I. E., Camps‐Valls, G., Ichii, K., ... & Carvalhais, N. (2017).
Global distribution of groundwater‐vegetation spatial covariation.
Geophysical Research Letters, 44(9), 4134-4142

Aktuelles MDI Projekte

Projekte nur auf Englisch verfügbar

Earth System Deep Learning for Seasonal Fire Forecasting in Europe (SeasFire)
Beginn: März 2022
Ende: März 2023
PI / Co-PI: Nuno Carvalhais
Teilnehmendes BGI-Mitglied: Nuno Carvalhais, Lazaro Alonso mehr
Earth System Models for the Future
ESM2025 - Erdsystemmodelle für die Zukunft ist ein ehrgeiziges europäisches Forschungsprojekt zur Erdsystemmodellierung, das eine neue Generation von Erdsystemmodellen entwickeln wird, die die Entwicklung von Minderungs- und Anpassungsstrategien im Einklang mit den Verpflichtungen des Pariser Abkommens unterstützen sollen. mehr
BIOMASS
Project Office BIOMASS entstand im Zuge der BIOMASS-Mission der ESA, deren Hauptziel es ist, unser Verständnis der Rolle der Landbiosphäre im globalen Kohlenstoffkreislauf zu verbessern. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, das derzeitige Verständnis der Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten bei der Überwachung der Biomasse in terrestrischen Ökosystemen zusammenzufassen und darzulegen, um unser Wissen über das System Erde weiter zu entwickeln. Stefanie, Hui und Nuno leiten das Projekt gemeinsam. mehr
DeepCube
In DeepCube werden wir das Brandrisiko im Mittelmeerraum und Dürren in Afrika mit Hilfe von Deep Learning und hybriden Modellierungsansätzen untersuchen, wobei wir multivariate Datenwürfel und Cloud-Datenverarbeitungs-Workflows verwenden. Zum BGI/MDI-Team gehören Dushyant, Chris, Felix, Fabian, Lazaro, Vitus, Markus und Nuno. mehr
CRESCENDO
In CRESCENDO, Sujan und Nuno bewerten die Dynamik des Kohlenstoffkreislaufs in europäischen Erdsystemmodellen und tragen zur Implementierung der Modellbewertungsdiagnose der Kohlenstoffumsatzzeiten im ESMValTool bei. mehr
SINDBAD

SINDBAD

Wir haben bei der Entwicklung von Strategies to Integrate Data and Biogeochemical models in Development (SINDBAD), einem modularen Rahmen für die Integration von Modellen und Daten, eng mit GDM zusammengearbeitet. Derzeit unterstützt SINDBAD mehrere Projekte zur Kopplung von Wasser und Kohlenstoff und zur Vegetationsdynamik auf verschiedenen Ebenen: Graph von Sujan und Martin Jung (GDM), und die Doktorandenprojekte von Tina, Hoontaek und Siyuan.

Analyse der Klimaeinflüsse auf die Bruttoprimärproduktivität auf der Grundlage von Modellen zur Lichtnutzungseffizienz: Hier analysiert Shanning die Muster der Klimasensitivität der Bruttoprimärproduktivität anhand von FLUXNET-Daten und globalen sonneninduzierten Fluoreszenzdaten. Das Projekt konzentriert sich auf die Bewertung und Vorhersage von Klimasensitivitätsfunktionen und Modellparametern auf der Grundlage einer Modell-Daten-Fusionsstrategie.

Ökosystemtranspiration aus der Eddy-Kovarianz: Jake entwickelt und bewertet Methoden zur Aufteilung des aus der Eddy-Kovarianz gemessenen Evapotranspirationsflusses in die Komponenten Transpiration und abiotische Verdunstung. Die Methoden werden auf den FLUXNET-Datensatz angewandt, um eine globale Perspektive auf den Wasserverbrauch der Pflanzen zu erhalten.

Ökologisches Prozessverständnis über Zeitskalen hinweg: In ihrem Promotionsprojekt erforscht Nora die zeitlichen Abhängigkeiten zwischen Vegetation und Klima auf globaler Ebene, um Fragen wie diese zu beantworten: Wie unterscheidet sich die dekadische Empfindlichkeit der Vegetation gegenüber dem Klima von der saisonalen Empfindlichkeit? Können wir die Beziehungen zwischen Atmosphäre und Biosphäre von einer Zeitskala auf die andere extrapolieren? Wo und wann müssen wir solche zeitlichen Abhängigkeiten bei der Modellierung und Überwachung der Vegetation berücksichtigen?

Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wasser und Kohlenstoffkreislauf auf verschiedenen Skalen: In seinem Promotionsprojekt versucht Hoontaek zu beantworten, 1) wie die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wasser- und Kohlenstoffkreislauf die Beobachtungen der beiden Kreisläufe prägen und 2) wer wen auf welchen Skalen antreibt. Dazu nutzt Hoontaek den Strom globaler Datensätze und einen Modell-Daten-Fusionsrahmen.

Veränderung der globalen Vegetation: Siyuan erforscht die Datenassimilation, um Vegetationsprozesse und die Reaktionen von Ökosystemen auf die Umwelt auf verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen zu untersuchen. Das Projekt untersucht die Zusammenhänge zwischen den Kohlenstoffflüssen im Ökosystem und den Veränderungen im Kohlenstoffzustand der Vegetation, indem es die Vegetationssterblichkeit und die Stoffwechselaktivität auf der Grundlage eines neuartigen modularen Modellierungsrahmens und verschiedener Beobachtungsdatenströme integriert.

In diesem Promotionsprojekt versucht Ranit, einen hybriden Modellierungsansatz zu entwickeln, um Wasser- und Kohlenstoffflüsse auf der Ebene des Ökosystems zu simulieren. Das Projekt wird große multivariate Erdbeobachtungsdatensätze nutzen, um kausale Zusammenhänge zwischen dem sich ändernden Klima und den Reaktionen der Ökosysteme zu erforschen. Dabei werden sowohl physikalisch basierte Modelle (physikalisch interpretierbar) als auch Ansätze des maschinellen Lernens (datenadaptiv) genutzt.

Abgeschlossene Projekte

Bewertung der Kohlenstoffdynamik der Vegetation anhand von weltraumgestützten Beobachtungen über mehrere Dekaden mehr
Das Earth System Data Lab (ESDL) ist ein Service für die wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft, der den Zugang zu und die Nutzung von multivariaten Datensätzen in den Geowissenschaften erheblich erleichtern soll. mehr
Das Hauptziel des ESA DUE GlobBiomass-Projekts ist es, die AGB-Schätzungen besser zu charakterisieren und die Unsicherheiten zu verringern, indem ein innovativer synergetischer Kartierungsansatz für fünf regionale Standorte für die Epochen 2005, 2010 und 2015 sowie für eine globale Karte für das Jahr 2010 entwickelt wird. mehr
Carbo Extremes zielt darauf ab, unser Verständnis des terrestrischen Kohlenstoffkreislaufs als Reaktion auf Klimaschwankungen und Extremereignisse zu verbessern mehr
Offensichtliche Kohlenstoffumschlagszeit im Ökosystem: Unsicherheiten und robuste Merkmale mehr
Offensichtliche Kohlenstoffumschlagzeit im Ökosystem: Unsicherheiten und robuste Merkmale mehr

CARBONES

Mit CARBONES wird ein neuartiger Ansatz zur Quantifizierung und zum Verständnis der CO2-Flüsse an der Oberfläche vorgeschlagen. Es handelt sich dabei um ein globales Informationssystem, das die Quantifizierung und das Verständnis der Verteilung der CO2-Flüsse, der Kohlenstoffpools und der zugrundeliegenden Prozesse auf umfassende und genaue Weise ermöglicht.

GEOCARBON

GEOCARBON zielt darauf ab, ein koordiniertes globales Kohlenstoffbeobachtungs- und -analysesystem zu entwickeln, das die Klimaziele der Group on Earth Observations (GEO) zum Aufbau eines globalen Erdbeobachtungssystems (Global Earth Observation System of Systems, GEOSS) für Kohlenstoff erfüllt.

GHG-Europe

Treibhausgasmanagement in europäischen Landnutzungssystemen

Team und Alumni

Team

Name
Telefon
Raum
Nuno Carvalhais
Gruppenleiter*in
  • +49 3641 57-6225
C3.009a
MPG Publikationen
Lazaro Alonso Silva
PostDoc
  • +49 3641 57-8915
B2.028
Stefanie Burkert
Wissenschaftliche Koordination
  • +49 3641 57-6245
C2.012b
Felix Cremer
PostDoc
  • +49 3641 57-8948
B3.031
Github
Ranit De
Doktorand
  • +49 3641 57-6290
C2.008a
LinkedIn
Sujan Koirala
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
  • +49 3641 57-8905
ITP3.029
MPG Publikationen
Dushyant Kumar
PostDoc
  • +49 3641 57-6228
C1.016
Hoontaek Lee
Doktorand
  • +49 3641 57-8917
ITP B3.28
MPG Publikationen
Jeran Poehls
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
  • +49 3641 57-8914
ITP B3.28
But Why?
Christian Requena Mesa
PostDoc
  • +49 3641 57-6242
C1.022a
MPG Publikationen
Claire Robin
Masterstudentin
Rackhun Son
PostDoc
  • +49 3641 57-6236
C3.011
Siyuan Wang
Doktorand
  • +49 3641 57-6248
C2.024
MPG Publikationen
Hui Yang
PostDoc
  • +49 3641 57-8980
C1.004
Yahai Zhang
Doktorandin
  • +49 3641 57-6215
C3.007
Yuzhen Zhang
Wissenschaftliche(r) Mitarbeiter*in, PostDoc

Andere Mitglieder der Abteilung, die aktiv an MDI-Aktivitäten beteiligt sind

Tina Trautmann, Weijie Zhang, Basil Kraft, Nora Linscheid, Jacob Nelson

Gäste

Name
Shanning Bao
Simon Besnard
Naixin Fan
Doktorand
Catarina Moura

Alumni

Name
Flávio Bastos Campos
Sven Boese
Maarten C. Braakhekke
Somak Chowdhury
Matthias Forkel
Stefan Karlowsky
Marleen Pallandt
Doktorandin
Steffen Richter

Data und Werkzeuge

Kohlenstoffumsatzzeiten: Naixin hat mehrere globale Datensätze zur Bruttoprimärproduktivität, zum Bodenkohlenstoff und zum Vegetationskohlenstoff zusammengeführt und verarbeitet, um ein großes Ensemble globaler Kohlenstoffumsatzzeiten für ganze Ökosysteme zu erstellen (Fan et al., 2020). Der von Nuno entwickelte Datensatz wurde bereits für die Bewertung von Erdsystemmodellen verwendet (Carvalhais et al., 2014). Diese beiden Daten sind über das Datenportal des Max-Planck-Instituts für Biogeochemie öffentlich zugänglich.

ESMValTool: Das Earth System Model Evaluation Tool (ESMValTool) ist eine Gemeinschaftsentwicklung, die darauf abzielt, die Ursachen und Auswirkungen von Modellverzerrungen und die Streuung zwischen Modellen zu verbessern, zu diagnostizieren und zu verstehen. Im Rahmen des CRESCENDO-Projekts hat Sujan ein ESMValTool-"Rezept" beigesteuert, das die ESM-Simulationen von 𝝉 diagnostiziert.

Waldalter: Auf der Grundlage von Waldinventurdaten hat Simon ein ML-Modell entwickelt, um das Alter von Waldbeständen aus globalen Fernerkundungs- und Klimadaten abzuleiten.

Globale oberirdische Biomasse: Wir haben mit GAMMA Remote Sensing im Rahmen des GlobBiomass ESA DUE Konsortiums zusammengearbeitet, um eine globale hochauflösende Karte der oberirdischen Biomasse zu erstellen. Die Daten sind hier zu finden: https://doi.pangaea.de/10.1594/PANGAEA.894711.

Lambda: Çağlar (GDM/MDI) entwickelte einen neuen ökohydrologischen Datensatz mit Metriken zur Charakterisierung der Vegetationsdynamik unter Feuchtigkeitsbegrenzung in Afrika unter Verwendung täglicher Zeitreihen der Fraction of Vegetation Cover (FVC) des geostationären Satelliten METEOSAT (Küçük et al., 2020).

TEA: Transpiration Estimation Algorithm : Jake (GDM/MDI) stellt Daten (https://zenodo.org/record/3978408#.YECpgWLPx_V), die Algorithmen und einige der Werkzeuge zur Verfügung, die bei der Untersuchung der Evapotranspirationsflussaufteilung aus Eddy-Kovarianz-Daten entwickelt wurden (https://github.com/jnelson18/).

Publikationen

Zeitschriftenartikel (92)

1.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Javier Pacheco-Labrador, Mirco Migliavacca, Xuanlong Ma, Miguel D. Mahecha, Nuno Carvalhais, Ulrich Weber, Raquel Benavides, Olivier Bouriaud, Ionut Barnoaie, David A. Coomesl, Friedrich J. Bohn, Guido Kraemer, Uta Heide, Andreas Huth, and Christian Wirth, "Challenging the link between functional and spectral diversity with radiative transfer modeling and data," Remote Sensing of Environment 280, 113170 (2022).
2.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Çağlar Küçük, Sujan Koirala, Nuno Carvalhais, Diego G. Miralles, Markus Reichstein, and Martin Jung, "Observation-based assessment of secondary water effects on seasonal vegetation decay across Africa," Frontiers in Big Data 5, 967477 (2022).
3.
Zeitschriftenartikel
William R. L. Anderegg, Chao Wu, Nezha Acil, Nuno Carvalhais, Thomas A. M. Pugh, Jon P. Sadler, and Rupert Seidl, "A climate risk analysis of Earth’s forests in the 21st century," Science 377 (6610), 1099-1103 (2022).
4.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Spyros Kondylatos, Ioannis Prapas, Michele Ronco , Ioannis Papoutsis , Gustau Camps-Valls , María Piles , Miguel-Ángel Fernández-Torres , and Nuno Carvalhais, "Wildfire danger prediction and understanding with deep learning," Geophysical Research Letters 49 (17), e2022GL099368 (2022).
5.
Zeitschriftenartikel
Hao Xu, Xu Lian, Ingrid J. Slette, Hui Yang, Yuan Zhang, Anping Chen, and Shilong Piao, "Rising ecosystem water demand exacerbates the lengthening of tropical dry seasons," Nature Communications 13, 4093 (2022).
Mehr anzeigen

Wie du Teil des Teams werden kannst...

Im Laufe der Jahre haben wir Praktikant*innen, Student*innen, die an ihrer Masterarbeit arbeiten, und vor allem die Entwicklung von PhD- und Postdoc-Forschungsprojekten betreut. Das waren Gelegenheiten zur Ausbildung und zur Entwicklung gemeinsamer Forschung, die von allen Seiten geschätzt wurden und bei denen ich gesehen habe, dass wir als Gruppe gewachsen sind. Wenn du daran interessiert bist, mit uns zusammenzuarbeiten, kannst du dich gerne bei uns melden. Wir geben hier und im Rahmen der IMPRS Möglichkeiten für Promotionsprojekte bekannt.

Zur Redakteursansicht